News & Events‎ > ‎

Principal's Newsletter, Week 2, Term 4, 2017

posted Dec 4, 2017, 6:12 PM by Unknown user
Congratulations to our Year 11 Drama class for the fabulous performances they put on last Thursday. The abstract theatre engaged the audience, moving us throughout the hall to the various stages, to enjoy the creative and talented performances of our students. This production was very much directed by the students themselves and I am so proud of their efforts. Thank you to their teachers Mr Jamie Gerlach and Ms Lauren Killey.

This week our HSC students have sat a number of exams and are handling the period well. As families of HSC students please ensure students are eating well, sleeping well and keep to an early morning routine. A number of our accelerated courses – Music, PDHPE and Agriculture – have completed their exams as well. We wish our Year 10 students, studying IPT and SDD, our best wishes next week.

On Tuesday night, we shared a wonderful evening at the Community of James Ruse Meeting with our four guest speakers. Royce Chen, Clare Wu, Bella Kwai and Delian Entchev presented inspirational speeches about their journeys since leaving James Ruse. All emphasised the importance of communication skills, perseverance and flexibility in seeking career opportunities.


The election of our 2018 Community of James Ruse executive was conducted. I wish to thank the outgoing executive for their fabulous efforts in 2017, a special thank you to Mr Gavin Rewell who contributed enormously as President. Our Executive in 2018 is


                                    President                     Yvonne Lo

                                    Secretary                    Suzan Meguid

                                    Treasurer                    Winton Anton

                                    Vice Presidents            Gavin Rewell

                                                                        Jacqueline Ku

                                    Committee Members    Praba Prabaharan

                                                                        Carmen Lam

                                                                        Disna Nanayakkara

                                                                        Alice Ho


Congratulations to our 2018 Science Scholar school participants. It is wonderful to see James Ruse represented in all four sciences and in such number:


·      Oliver Yau                         Biology

·      Wilson Jiang                     Biology

·      Wen Jing Chen                 Biology

·      Bruce Chen                       Chemistry

·      Jessica Chia                     Chemistry

·      Richard Huang                  Chemistry

·      Shilan Jiang                      Chemistry

·      Raymond Li                       Chemistry

·      Phillip Liang                       Chemistry

·      Anthony Mai                     Chemistry

·      Yon Su                               Chemistry

·      Elton Yang            Chemistry

·      Yichen Zhang                    Chemistry

·       Helen Han                        Earth & environmental science

·      Kim Zheng                         Earth & environmental science

·      Sharon Thio                      Earth & environmental science

·      Wayne Wong                    Earth & environmental science

·      Sourajit Bhattacharyya   Physics

·      Brian Su                            Physics

·      Andrew Xu                        Physics

Congratulations to Cameron Greig Yr 11 who was awarded 3rd place in the 2017 Republic Essay Competition. 

Coming Events

Week 3B                        HSC examinations

Thursday October 26th                       Geography Challenge

Friday October 27th                Mufti Day 

Week 4A                       HSC Examinations

                                  Year 8 and 10 exams


Week 5B                        HSC Examinations

                                  Year 7 and 9 exams

Have a wonderful week

Megan Connors